Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography

by  Neil Patrick Harris
Audio EditionRead November 20, 2014

Original Release Date: October 14, 2014

Length: 304 pages

Official Description:

Tired of memoirs that only tell you what really happened?

Sick of deeply personal accounts written in the first person? Seeking an exciting, interactive read that puts the “u” back in “aUtobiography”? Then look no further than Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography! In this revolutionary, Joycean experiment in light celebrity narrative, actor/personality/carbon-based life-form Neil Patrick Harris lets you, the reader, live his life. You will be born in New Mexico. You will get your big break at an acting camp. You will get into a bizarre confrontation outside a nightclub with actor Scott Caan. Even better, at each critical juncture of your life you will choose how to proceed. You will decide whether to try out for Doogie Howser, M.D.You will decide whether to spend years struggling with your sexuality. You will decide what kind of caviar you want to eat on board Elton John’s yacht.

Choose correctly and you’ll find fame, fortune, and true love. Choose incorrectly and you’ll find misery, heartbreak, and a guest stint on Celebrity Rehab with Dr. Drew. All this, plus magic tricks, cocktail recipes, embarrassing pictures from your time as a child actor, and even a closing song. Yes, if you buy one book this year, congratulations on being above the American average, but make that book Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography!

My Take: 

I love Neil Patrick Harris, not as a person, because I don’t know him, that would be weird, but I love him as an actor. Doogie Howser came on when I was in first grade, yep first grade, I remember watching this show as a family thinking to myself, “I want to grow up to be Doogie.” Of course I didn’t…but I am in the medical field so that counts right? I also enjoyed HIMYM, and his hosting of the Tony’s. I wish I could see some stage productions, but alas, I haven’t. I am really glad that I picked this up.

This book was my commuter book, I spent my hour in a car everyday listening to Neil Patrick Harris talk about Neil Patrick Harris. And it was awesome! The whole choose your own bit gets a little bit squirrely, and he even says so in the beginning, but that’s the sacrifice you make when you don’t actually read. That’s kind of a quote…I don’t remember exactly what he said, but I laughed. I can’t say I knew much about NPH as a person, I don’t generally read gossip fodder, I just enjoy him as an actor. I DIDN’T MENTION DR. HORRIBLE ABOVE. I just realized this, loved Dr. Horrible. Neil is very talented, it is interesting and inspiring with the struggles, kind of, of coming to terms with his identity of self, be that sexual, emotional, career-wise, etc. He seems like a genuine good guy overall, he’s flawed, but very funny. I am glad I listened to this book, because NPH’s personality just comes out and makes the reading that much more enjoyable. Also, apparently his says HIMYM different from everyone else I’ve ever met. We all say it like “Hi Mim” with the i being more igloo than I. Anyway, long story short, pick up this if you’re an NPH fan, either by book or by audio it’s a fantastic little jaunt.

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

