Precipice

by John Jackson Miller
Kindle EditionRead October 8, 2014

Original Release Date: May 26, 2009

Length: 60 pages

Official Description: (Book #1 in the Lost Tribe of the Sith series)

For the ruthless Sith Order, failure is not an option. It is an offense punishable by death-and a fate to which Commander Yaru Korsin will not succumb. But on a crucial run to deliver troops and precious crystals to a combat hotspot in the Sith’s war against the Republic, Korsin and the crew of the mining ship Omen are ambushed by a Jedi starfighter. And when the Sith craft crash-lands, torn and crippled, on a desolate alien planet, the hard-bitten captain finds himself at odds with desperate survivors on the brink of mutiny-and his own vengeful half-brother, who’s bent on seizing command.

No matter the cost, Korsin vows that it will not be his blood and bones left behind on this unknown world. For the way of the Sith leaves little room for compromise-and none at all for mercy.

My Take: 

I ‘bought’ this book WAY back in 2010 and  read it, and hated it. Back then this was a serial series and I got a large portion of the series for free, because it was just free on Amazon. Now they are unavailable in this mini series and are collected in one book. However, I did not get the book in a whole piece so I am just going to review each piece I read at a time, because that is how they were procured.

So this short piece was confusing as all get up. I’m still not sure I totally grasped all the characters in the story. There are 3 characters that are related and I could not keep them straight. We have daddy Sith, Progeny Sith, and surprise progeny Sith all aboard a ship called the Omen. I am not entirely sure who is the protagonist of the story, or as protagonist as a Sith can be. We learn that their ship was struck after mining the crystals which power light sabers. (they don’t say that’s what they’re for I inferred these are what they were mining)  Then they crash-land onto a plant which kills some people, I don’t really know which ones, the red ones maybe? It seemed to be a big deal that these guys were killed, but Ya know I have no idea it what happened. There is this whole family dynamic which I had a hard time following because all three men had similar names. There were different POVs which also didn’t help. HOWEVER, I am rating a star more than I thought I should because in the end it was pretty interesting, I was engaged, I wanted to know what happened next, mostly I just wanted to know what the eff was going on! As a story as a whole, I’ll have to get back to you on that one, but this one, though confusing, wasn’t that bad.

Quote:

“A ship needed a crew united in purpose–only the purpose of being Sith was the exaltation of self. Every ensign an emperor. Every rival’s misstep, an opportunity. Well, here’s and opportunity, he thought. Solve this, someone, and you can flat-out have the blasted comfy chair.”

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

