The Fade Out

by Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips
Digital EditionRead April 26, 2015

Original Release Date: February 25, 2015

Length: 120 pages

Official Description

Brubaker and Phillips’ newest hit series, The Fade Out, is an epic noir set in the world of noir itself, the backlots and bars of Hollywood at the end of its Golden Era. A movie stuck in endless reshoots, a writer damaged from the war and lost in the bottle, a dead movie star and the lookalike hired to replace her. Nothing is what it seems in the place where only lies are true. The Fade Out is Brubaker and Phillips’ most ambitious project yet!

My Take:

Here we have a Noir graphic novel.  Noir has been coming back with a vengeance lately. Why shouldn’t it? It’s very stylized, easy to make beautiful, a fun way to tell a story. This story was just ok for me. It has great reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. I just found it mediocre. It didn’t really do it for me. I found the story too stylized, to A Scanner Darkly for my tastes. The story was interesting, but didn’t really drag me in. I simply did not care for it. It’s not bad, it’s very artistic, it has that story line that makes you wonder, “Who Did it?” and it’s kinda cool to see 1940s Hollywood in this light. Again, this just wasn’t for me. It’s too winded, too many explanations, too much back story. How weird is that? This turned me off because the characters…in a book…talked too much. It doesn’t make sense, I get it. I’m sorry I didn’t like it more. I wanted to but oh well. Honestly I think it was the art. That overly dramatic, almost realistic feel, but not quite, always off.  It’s fine really, I think I’m trying to talk myself into liking it more, but too much standing around smoking, talking and talking. I loved the cover, the covers always get me.

(I did receive this book free for an honest review)

 

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

