Ravished by a Highlander

by Paula Quinn, Carrington MacDuffie (Narrator)
Audio EditionRead May 8, 2015

Original Release Date:  May 1, 2010

Length: 337 pages

Official Description: (This is book #1 of the Children of the Mist series)

FORBIDDEN LOVE

Davina Montgomery is no ordinary English lady. For her own protection, she’s been locked away from society, her true identity the Crown’s most closely guarded secret. Until a shocking betrayal–and a bold rescue–land her in the arms of a fierce Highlander, a powerful warrior whose searing gaze and tantalizing touch awaken her body and soul.

UNDENIABLE DESIRE

As the firstborn son of a powerful Scottish laird, Robert MacGregor has no loyalty to the English throne, but he’s not the kind of man to leave a woman in distress, even if she is English. He vows to deliver Davina to safety, unharmed and untouched. Yet one stolen kiss leaves them both smoldering with desire…and desperate for more. With Davina’s secret threatening to destroy his clan, Rob must choose between everything he holds dear and the one woman he can’t live without.

RAVISHED BY A HIGHLANDER

My Take:

I like Highlander stories or rather period Highlander stories. This is fairly new, as I always used to avoid the pure romance titles. These kinds of books get me though. I don’t know why, maybe it’s the era, the highlanders, the country side. It’s not necessarily the plot or writing, which were both ok in the story. I like Davina, she is perfectly capable of taking care of herself, she is pretty self-sufficient, or at least as sufficient as she can be in her time. She is cloistered away to live the life of a nun, has a best friend guarding her who loves her and is the best kept secret of the crown. Enter the MacGregor’s who are happening along to the Abby Davina is kept and come upon a raid, they meet a man who tells them to save Davina. They do and of course Robert, future laird of the MacGregor clan, and Davina will eventually go all googly-eyed at one another. There is no insta-love. It’s insta-lust, of course, but everyone is prim and proper, for a while.

What can I say, the story, over all, is fairly cookie cutter, but I did enjoy it. I liked some of the historical references, because I knew what would become of those characters, in real life, and knew how the story would end up, in order to stay true to history. Honestly, the best part for me was the description of the country side. I’ve never been to Scotland, never been to Europe, Scotland is in my top 5 of places to visit. This book makes me wish I could go there sooner, it’s got some lovely descriptions. I think I’d be somewhat disappointed, when/if I go there I don’t want it to be modern, I want the hills and landscapes of history.

What I learned after reading this series is that it actually follows a different series. The MacGregors. Which chronicles the parents story. I hear if you read those you’ll be less lost in this series. I wasn’t all together lost, but it would have been nice to know.

What should you expect? As I said it’s a cookie cutter historical romance involving Highlanders. If you like that sort of thing you’ll love this. There is action, romance, adventure, backstabbing and redemption. Give it a go, you won’t be disappointed.

Up Next:

Leave a Reply

