Sin City, Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye

by Frank Miller
Paperback EditionRead August 5, 2015

Original Release Date: June 1992

Length: 208 pages

Official Description:

The first volume of the crime-comic megahit that introduced the now-infamous Marv and spawned a blockbuster film returns in a newly redesigned edition, with a brand-new cover by Frank Miller-some of his first comics art in years!

It’s a lousy room in a lousy part of a lousy town. But Marv doesn’t care. There’s an angel in the room. She says her name is Goldie. A few hours later, Goldie’s dead without a mark on her perfect body, and the cops are coming before anyone but Marv could know she’s been killed. Somebody paid good money for this frame . . .

My Take:

Much like reading 300 I watched the film, the first one, before reading this graphic novel.  Set in a noir style world with only black and white art, Frank Miller’s Sin City was a ground breaking novel. Or so I’m told, I don’t really know that much about all the comic world stuff. I like Marv. I like that the book is all about Marv and his desire for his version of justice for Goldie, a woman that he just met. I enjoy a good noir every now and then, as well as a good anti-hero. I love that this sticks with the noir grittiness and the rough around the edges, with a non PC approach. I also find it great the Miller not only wrote the story he also did the art work and lettering, which is fantastically impressive, that’s a lot of immaculate work. Noir is almost always more violent than expected, this graphic novel is no different, along with the violence we have unrealistic nudity. I mean it’s a graphic novel, so we can pretend that people look like that. It has been a few months since I actually read this so, I am a little short on detail. The book draws you in, it is a quick read and you care about Marv, and his obvious rage and insanity. It is amazing how quickly he thinks he falls for a woman, I mean, he goes on a rampage after a one nighter, that’s some crazy commitment. Though I have a pretty good idea how the next comics will go, I still look forward to delving into the insanity that is Basin City and all the residents.

Quote:

“Hell’s waking up every goddamn day and not even knowing why you’re here.”

Up Next:

25076719

Leave a Reply

